China is a country of many political parties. Apart from the Communist Party of China (CPC) which holds real power, there are eight non-Communist parties.

Following the First Plenary Session of Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) in September1949, participate by CPC and other democratic parties, the People's Republic of China was elected and founded. Since then, all the non-Communist parties participated in important decisions concerning the state's political issues; and many members of the non-Communist parties have been represented in CPPCC committees in various levels.

Many members of the non-Communist parties hold leading posts on the standing committees of the people's congresses, the committees of CPPCC, government organizations and economic, cultural, scientific and technological departments at various levels. The non-Communist parties of China are not the opposition parties, but parties that coexist and engage in mutual supervision with CPC.


Communist Party of China (CPC)

Founded in July 1921, the CPC has more than 60 million members today. From 1921 to 1949, the CPC had led the Chinese people in overthrowing the rule of imperialism, feudalism and bureaucrat-capitalism with the establishments of the People's Republic of China (PRC). After the founding of New China, the CPC had led the people in defending the country's independence and safety, and had successfully completed the country's transition from new democracy to socialism.

Unprecedented large-scale socialist constructions have since been carried out systematically, achieving economic and cultural progress unparalleled in the history of China.

In September 1997, the CPC convened its historically significant 15th National Congress, where the Deng Xiaoping Theory was declared as the guiding ideology of the whole Party.

The Congress has identified the period up to year 2010 as the key period for China's modernization drive. China is expect to actively promote fundamental changes in the economic structure, to establish a socialist market economy that is able to sustain steady and rapid development of the economy. These will lay a solid foundation to realize the country's modernization in the middle of the next century.


The highest leading bodies of the Communist Party of China are the national Party congress (which is held once every five years) and the Central Committee elected at the national Party congress. The Central Committee holds a meetings at least once a year. The Central Political Bureau (Politburo), the Politburo's Standing Committee and the general secretary of the Central Committee are elected at a plenary session of the Central Committee, which decides on members of the Central Secretariat. The Central Bureau and its Standing Committee exercise the functions and powers of the Central Committee when it is not in session. The Central Secretariat attends to the day-to-day work of the Politburo and its Standing Committee. The Central Committee's general secretary is responsible for convening meetings of the Central Political Bureau and its Standing Committee, and directs the work of the Central Secretariat. Hu Jintao is the current general secretary.

China Revolutionary Committee of the Kuomintang

Founded in January 1948, the party has more than 60,000 members. The current Central Committee chairman is He Luli. It is for the most part composed of former Kuomintang members and those who have historical connections with Kuomintang.

China Democratic League

Founded in October 1941, it now has more than 144,000 members, mostly intellectuals at fairly senior levels. The current Central Committee chairman is Ding Shisun.

China Democratic National Construction Association

Founded in December 1945, this party has more than 78,000 members, most are from the economic field or academic specialists. The current Central Committee chairman is Chen Siwei.

China Association for the Promotion of Democracy

Founded in December 1945, this party currently has more than 74,000 members. Its membership is mainly drawn form intellectuals working in educational, cultural, scientific and publishing fields. The current Central Committee chairman is Xu Jialu.

Chinese Peasants and Workers' Democratic Party

Founded in August 1930, it currently has more than 74,000 members, most of whom work in the fields of public health, culture and education or science and technology. The current Central Committee chairman is Jian Zhenghua.

China Zhi Gong Dang

Founded in October 1925, this party currently has more than 18,000 members. Most of them are returned overseas Chinese, relatives of overseas Chinese, and representative individuals and specialist and scholars with overseas connections. The current Central Committee chairman is Luo Haochai.

Jiusan Society

Founded in December 1944, this party currently has more than 78,000 members. They are mostly high-and-medium-level intellectuals working in science and technology, culture and education, public health. The current Central Committee chairman is Han Qide.